Groundwork for this much-touted metro work may finally begin

Agra: The groundwork for the much-touted metro rail project in the City of Taj may finally begin. While presenting its maiden Budget on Tuesday, the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government said a budgetary provision of Rs 10 lakh has been made, as initial funding, for development of the proposed metro rail system in the city.

According to Agra Development Authority (ADA) officials, the fund will help in preparing the groundwork for implementation of the project.

 The metro development project has been in the pipeline for the past few years. During the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party government, in 2016, ADA got a Detailed Project Report (DPR) on rail-based mass rapid transit system for Agra was prepared by the Rail India Technical and Engineering Services (RITES). The project, however, did not see further progress due to lack of funds.
Now, after it formation, the new BJP government checked the status of the metro rail project and asked officers concerned to proceed with it without further delay. Earlier this year, after incorporating some changes in the DPR, it was presented before high-level state authorities. Following this, the requirement of funds to initiate metro rail related development work has been addressed in the annual budget 2017-18. As per the DPR, the development of the first metro corridor will be completed by June 2022.

A senior ADA official said, “We were expecting more funds in the budget for the metro rail project but the state government has approved only Rs 10 crore, with which we can just prepare the groundwork to initiate the project. However, it is a positive step for the future of the project.”

The metro rail project in Agra is divided into two corridors. The first corridor from Sikandra to Fatehabad road is around 13-km long. Some major metro stations on this corridor are: Taj Mahal east gate, Agra Fort, Jama Masjid, Heeng Ki Mandi, Raja Mandi, Guru Ka Taal, ISBT, etc.

The second corridor from Agra Cantt to Kalindi Vihar is 16 km long. Major metro stations on this route include Sadar Bazaar, Pratapura, St John’s Crossing, Subhas Park Kamla Nagar, Rambagh, etc.